How AFC Group Holdings Limited makes money
Where AFC’s revenue went in FY2024: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. AFC company profile
How AFC Group Holdings Limited makes money — FY2024
Revenue $1.3m · Net profit $54k (4.1% of revenue) · Financial year ending March (from the issuer record)
Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).
| FY2024 | Amount | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.3m | Reported | |
| Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income) | −$1.2m | Derived * | Reported operating expenses $0.9m do not reconcile; not used. |
| Depreciation & amortisation | — | Not reported | |
| EBIT | $128k | Reported | |
| Interest (net finance costs) | −$75k | Reported | |
| Income tax | — | Not reported | Recorded as $0 against a pre-tax profit, which is unlikely to be a nil charge; treated as not reported and included in the balancing item. |
| Tax and other items (net gain) | +$1k | Balancing item * | Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised. |
| Net profit | $54k | Reported |
- * operating costs: $1.2m = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
- Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
- Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($1.3m) vs the summary table ($1.3m): agree within 2%.
- Not met: Reported operating expenses ($0.9m) leave $0.4m, not EBIT of $0.1m (gap $0.3m); costs derived as revenue minus operating profit instead. No split is shown.
- Passed: Balancing item $0m is 0.1% of revenue (limit 25%).
- Not met: Operating segments sum to $1,072.5m after $492.6m of eliminations, 80902.4% away from revenue of $1.3m (limit 2%); shown as one Revenue figure.
Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.
Annual report: AFC Group Holdings Limited 2024 Annual Report (PDF, NZX)
Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2023 → FY2024)
Bridge not available: EBITDA isn't a meaningful measure for banks, insurers and property trusts; sector-specific measures (net interest margin, combined ratio, FFO) are not yet held.
Margins over time
Net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (1 of 8 years from FY2018). The shaded line is the median of 4 other listed Financials banks and finance companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.
AFC peer median below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table).
| Year | Net margin: AFC · peer median (n) | Note | |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2018 | — | 33.3% (2) | Not charted: operating loss |
| FY2019 | — | — (1) | Not charted: operating loss |
| FY2020 | — | — (1) | Not charted: operating loss |
| FY2021 | — | 34.6% (3) | Not charted: not from annual report |
| FY2022 | — | 36.3% (2) | Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split |
| FY2023 | — | 33.6% (4) | Not charted: not from annual report |
| FY2024 | 4.1% | 32.0% (3) | |
| FY2025 | — | 12.3% (2) | Not charted: operating loss |
Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.
Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.
Years not charted
These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.
- FY2025: EBIT is -$0.1m. This layout does not draw an operating loss.
- FY2023: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
- FY2022: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
- FY2021: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
- FY2020: EBITDA is -$1m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
- FY2019: EBIT is -$1m. This layout does not draw an operating loss.
- FY2018: EBITDA is -$0.2m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.
For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.
Get NZX governance insights in your inbox
Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.