How AFT Pharmaceuticals Limited makes money
Where AFT’s revenue went in FY2026: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. AFT company profile
How AFT Pharmaceuticals Limited makes money — FY2026
Revenue $254.7m · EBITDA $28.8m (11.3% of revenue) · Net profit $14.1m (5.5% of revenue) · Financial year ending March (from the issuer record)
Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).
| FY2026 | Amount | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $254.7m | Reported | |
| Operating costs (net of other income) | −$225.9m | Derived * | |
| EBITDA | $28.8m | Reported | |
| Depreciation & amortisation | −$4.4m | Derived * | |
| EBIT | $24.4m | Reported | |
| Interest | — | Not reported | Included in the balancing item. |
| Income tax | — | Not reported | Included in the balancing item. |
| Interest, tax and other items (net cost) | −$10.3m | Balancing item * | Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised. |
| Net profit | $14.1m | Reported |
- * depreciation amortisation: $4.4m = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
- * operating costs: $225.9m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
- Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
- Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($254.7m) vs the summary table ($254.7m): agree within 2%.
- Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
- Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
- Passed: Balancing item -$10.3m is 4.0% of revenue (limit 25%).
- Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.
Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 12 June 2026.
Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2025 → FY2026)
Bridge not available: FY2025 is not charted: After placing every reported line, $2,818.7m (1355% of revenue) is left unexplained between EBIT and net profit. A residual that large usually means a line was mis-extracted, so the chart is not drawn.
Margins over time
EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (5 of 9 years from FY2018). The shaded line is the median of 11 other listed Healthcare operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.
AFT peer median below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.
| Year | EBITDA margin: AFT · peer median (n) | EBIT margin: AFT · peer median (n) | Net margin: AFT · peer median (n) | Note | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2018 | — | 8.6% (3) | — | 16.6% (4) | — | 11.6% (4) | Not charted: operating loss |
| FY2019 | — | 11.7% (4) | 7.2% | 9.5% (4) | -2.8% | 13.9% (4) | EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only) |
| FY2020 | — | 9.3% (4) | 20.1% | 5.6% (5) | 12.0% | 3.9% (5) | EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only) |
| FY2021 | — | 17.9% (4) | 9.5% | 9.7% (5) | 6.8% | 2.0% (5) | EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only) |
| FY2022 | — | 23.7% (5) | — | 19.4% (5) | — | 10.7% (5) | Not charted: not from annual report |
| FY2023 | — | 13.2% (6) | — | 9.2% (6) | — | 4.6% (6) | Not charted: not from annual report |
| FY2024 | 13.4% | 12.2% (7) | 12.4% | 6.4% (7) | 8.0% | 3.1% (7) | |
| FY2025 | — | 13.5% (7) | — | 12.2% (7) | — | 10.1% (7) | Not charted: unexplained residual |
| FY2026 | 11.3% | 11.4% (2) | 9.6% | 7.7% (2) | 5.5% | 4.7% (2) | |
Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.
Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.
Years not charted
These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.
- FY2025: After placing every reported line, $2,818.7m (1355% of revenue) is left unexplained between EBIT and net profit. A residual that large usually means a line was mis-extracted, so the chart is not drawn.
- FY2023: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
- FY2022: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
- FY2018: EBIT is -$10.1m. This layout does not draw an operating loss.
Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.
For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.
Get NZX governance insights in your inbox
Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.