How BLIS Technologies Limited makes money

Where BLT’s revenue went in FY2021: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. BLT company profile

How BLIS Technologies Limited makes money — FY2021

Revenue $10.6m · EBITDA $1.0m (9.4% of revenue) · Net profit $564k (5.3% of revenue) · Financial year ending March (from the issuer record)

BLIS Technologies Limited (BLT) FY2021: where revenue of $10.6m wentRevenue → EBITDA: $1.0mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $9.6mEBITDA → EBIT: $590kEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $410kEBIT → Net profit: $564kEBIT → Interest: $26kRevenue: $10.6mRevenue$10.6mEBITDA: $1.0mEBITDA$1.0mOperating costs (net of other income): $9.6m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$9.6m · derivedEBIT: $590kEBIT$590kDepreciation & amortisation: $410k (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$410k · derivedNet profit: $564kNet profit$564kInterest: $26kInterest$26k

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

BLIS Technologies Limited FY2021 figures used in the chart
FY2021AmountStatusNote
Revenue$10.6mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$9.6mDerived *
EBITDA$1.0mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$410kDerived *
EBIT$590kReported
Interest (net finance costs)−$26kReported
Income tax—Not reportedRecorded as $0 against a pre-tax profit, which is unlikely to be a nil charge; treated as not reported and included in the balancing item.
Tax and other items (net gain)+$0Balancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$564kReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $410k = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $9.6m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($10.6m) vs the summary table ($10.6m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item $0m is 0.0% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: Annual Report - 31 March 2021 (PDF) (PDF, NZX)

EBITDA bridge, FY2020 → FY2021

What moved EBITDA between the two years: the change in revenue, less the change in operating costs (revenue less EBITDA, net of other income; not a reported line). The costs are one net figure; no split by type is held, so none is shown.

BLT EBITDA bridge FY2020 to FY2021FY2020 EBITDA: $2.1m$2.1mFY2020 EBITDARevenue change: −$0.0m−$0.0mRevenue changeCost change (derived): −$1.1m−$1.1mCost change (derived)FY2021 EBITDA: $1.0m$1.0mFY2021 EBITDA
BLT EBITDA bridge FY2020 to FY2021: figures
StepFY2020FY2021Effect on EBITDAStatus
FY2020 EBITDA$2.1m$2.1mAs charted
Revenue$10.6m$10.6m−$0.0mReported
Operating costs (net, derived)$8.5m$9.6m−$1.1mDerived: revenue − EBITDA
FY2021 EBITDA$1.0m$1.0mAs charted

$2.1m −$0.0m −$1.1m = $1.0m, which equals FY2021 EBITDA of $1.0m. EBITDA is the figure stored from each statement; companies that headline an adjusted measure (EBITDAF, underlying EBITDA) can report a different number.

What changed from FY2020 to FY2021

MeasureFY2020FY2021ChangeChange %
Revenue$10.6m$10.6m−$29k−0.3%
EBITDA$2.1m$1.0m−$1.1m−52.4%
Net profit$1.6m$564k−$1.0m−64.8%
EBITDA margin19.7%9.4%−10.3 pts—
Net margin15.1%5.3%−9.7 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (5 of 10 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 12 other listed Consumer Staples operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
BLT ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%15%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — operating lossFY2018: not charted — operating lossFY2019: BLT 10.7%; peer median 14.7% (4)FY2020: BLT 19.7%; peer median 20.2% (4)FY2021: BLT 9.4%; peer median — (1)FY2022: not charted — operating lossFY2023: not charted — operating lossFY2024: BLT 6.9%; peer median 20.5% (8)FY2025: BLT 7.9%; peer median 17.9% (9)FY2026: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT split
EBIT margin
BLT ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%15%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — operating lossFY2018: not charted — operating lossFY2019: BLT 4.8%; peer median 12.2% (5)FY2020: BLT 15.3%; peer median 13.4% (6)FY2021: BLT 5.6%; peer median 9.6% (3)FY2022: not charted — operating lossFY2023: not charted — operating lossFY2024: BLT 6.3%; peer median 13.8% (9)FY2025: BLT 7.1%; peer median 10.9% (10)FY2026: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT split
Net margin
BLT net margin by financial year, with peer median0%15%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — operating lossFY2018: not charted — operating lossFY2019: BLT 4.5%; peer median 8.0% (5)FY2020: BLT 15.1%; peer median 8.8% (6)FY2021: BLT 5.3%; peer median 6.7% (3)FY2022: not charted — operating lossFY2023: not charted — operating lossFY2024: BLT 5.6%; peer median 3.4% (9)FY2025: BLT 6.6%; peer median 6.8% (10)FY2026: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT split

BLT   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

BLT margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: BLT · peer median (n)EBIT margin: BLT · peer median (n)Net margin: BLT · peer median (n)Note
FY2017—12.2% (6)—8.3% (8)—6.5% (8)Not charted: operating loss
FY2018—16.4% (5)—11.0% (6)—6.4% (6)Not charted: operating loss
FY201910.7%14.7% (4)4.8%12.2% (5)4.5%8.0% (5)
FY202019.7%20.2% (4)15.3%13.4% (6)15.1%8.8% (6)
FY20219.4%— (1)5.6%9.6% (3)5.3%6.7% (3)
FY2022—18.2% (6)—11.0% (6)—5.4% (6)Not charted: operating loss
FY2023—11.7% (7)—8.9% (7)—1.8% (7)Not charted: operating loss
FY20246.9%20.5% (8)6.3%13.8% (9)5.6%3.4% (9)
FY20257.9%17.9% (9)7.1%10.9% (10)6.6%6.8% (10)
FY2026—15.0% (4)—13.5% (4)—10.4% (4)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2026: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2023: EBITDA is -$0.6m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2022: EBITDA is -$2.1m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2018: EBITDA is -$0.4m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2017: EBIT is -$0m. This layout does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2016: EBIT is -$0.3m. This layout does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2015: EBITDA is -$0.3m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2014: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2013: EBITDA is -$1.3m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2012: EBITDA is -$0.8m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2011: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.