How Freightways Group Limited makes money

Where FRW’s revenue went in FY2019: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. FRW company profile

How Freightways Group Limited makes money — FY2019

Revenue $615.7m · EBITDA $99.1m (16.1% of revenue) · Net profit $63.4m (10.3% of revenue) · Financial year ending June (from the issuer record)

Freightways Group Limited (FRW) FY2019: where revenue of $615.7m wentRevenue → EBITDA: $99.1mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $516.6mEBITDA → EBIT: $99.1mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $33kEBIT → Net profit: $63.4mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $35.7mRevenue: $615.7mRevenue$615.7mEBITDA: $99.1mEBITDA$99.1mOperating costs (net of other income): $516.6m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$516.6m · derivedEBIT: $99.1mEBIT$99.1mDepreciation & amortisation: $33k (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$33k · derivedNet profit: $63.4mNet profit$63.4mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $35.7m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$35.7m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Freightways Group Limited FY2019 figures used in the chart
FY2019AmountStatusNote
Revenue$615.7mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$516.6mDerived *
EBITDA$99.1mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$33kDerived *
EBIT$99.1mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$35.7mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$63.4mReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $33k = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $516.6m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($615.7m) vs the summary table ($615.7m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$35.7m is 5.8% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: 2019 Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

EBITDA bridge, FY2018 → FY2019

What moved EBITDA between the two years: the change in revenue, less the change in operating costs (revenue less EBITDA, net of other income; not a reported line). The costs are one net figure; no split by type is held, so none is shown.

FRW EBITDA bridge FY2018 to FY2019FY2018 EBITDA: $96.3m$96.3mFY2018 EBITDARevenue change: +$34.8m+$34.8mRevenue changeCost change (derived): −$32.0m−$32.0mCost change (derived)FY2019 EBITDA: $99.1m$99.1mFY2019 EBITDA
FRW EBITDA bridge FY2018 to FY2019: figures
StepFY2018FY2019Effect on EBITDAStatus
FY2018 EBITDA$96.3m$96.3mAs charted
Revenue$580.9m$615.7m+$34.8mReported
Operating costs (net, derived)$484.6m$516.6m−$32.0mDerived: revenue − EBITDA
FY2019 EBITDA$99.1m$99.1mAs charted

$96.3m +$34.8m −$32.0m = $99.1m, which equals FY2019 EBITDA of $99.1m. EBITDA is the figure stored from each statement; companies that headline an adjusted measure (EBITDAF, underlying EBITDA) can report a different number.

What changed from FY2018 to FY2019

MeasureFY2018FY2019ChangeChange %
Revenue$580.9m$615.7m+$34.8m+6.0%
EBITDA$96.3m$99.1m+$2.8m+3.0%
Net profit$62.2m$63.4m+$1.2m+2.0%
EBITDA margin16.6%16.1%−0.5 pts—
Net margin10.7%10.3%−0.4 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 22 other listed Industrials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
FRW ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: FRW 17.1%; peer median 12.4% (5)FY2018: FRW 16.6%; peer median 10.9% (7)FY2019: FRW 16.1%; peer median 8.7% (7)FY2020: FRW 14.0%; peer median 15.0% (6)FY2021: FRW 13.4%; peer median 11.7% (8)FY2022: FRW 14.5%; peer median 13.6% (7)FY2023: FRW 13.0%; peer median 16.3% (11)FY2024: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2025: FRW 19.3%; peer median 14.6% (12)
EBIT margin
FRW ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: FRW 14.6%; peer median 7.8% (5)FY2018: FRW 15.4%; peer median 6.4% (7)FY2019: FRW 16.1%; peer median 4.9% (9)FY2020: FRW 6.0%; peer median 7.4% (7)FY2021: FRW 5.4%; peer median 6.3% (10)FY2022: FRW 6.9%; peer median 9.6% (9)FY2023: FRW 5.7%; peer median 8.6% (12)FY2024: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2025: FRW 11.3%; peer median 7.3% (12)
Net margin
FRW net margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: FRW 11.2%; peer median 4.4% (5)FY2018: FRW 10.7%; peer median 4.6% (7)FY2019: FRW 10.3%; peer median 4.7% (9)FY2020: FRW 7.5%; peer median 5.1% (7)FY2021: FRW 6.2%; peer median 4.7% (10)FY2022: FRW 8.0%; peer median 6.1% (9)FY2023: FRW 6.7%; peer median 5.7% (12)FY2024: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2025: FRW 6.2%; peer median 4.8% (12)

FRW   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

FRW margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: FRW · peer median (n)EBIT margin: FRW · peer median (n)Net margin: FRW · peer median (n)Note
FY201717.1%12.4% (5)14.6%7.8% (5)11.2%4.4% (5)
FY201816.6%10.9% (7)15.4%6.4% (7)10.7%4.6% (7)
FY201916.1%8.7% (7)16.1%4.9% (9)10.3%4.7% (9)
FY202014.0%15.0% (6)6.0%7.4% (7)7.5%5.1% (7)
FY202113.4%11.7% (8)5.4%6.3% (10)6.2%4.7% (10)
FY202214.5%13.6% (7)6.9%9.6% (9)8.0%6.1% (9)
FY202313.0%16.3% (11)5.7%8.6% (12)6.7%5.7% (12)
FY2024—14.5% (10)—5.9% (11)—2.8% (11)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY202519.3%14.6% (12)11.3%7.3% (12)6.2%4.8% (12)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2024: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.