How General Capital Limited makes money

Where GEN’s revenue went in FY2025: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. GEN company profile

How General Capital Limited makes money — FY2025

Revenue $22.6m · Net profit $2.8m (12.4% of revenue) · Balance date 31 March 2025

General Capital Limited (GEN) FY2025: where revenue of $22.6m wentRevenue → EBIT: $3.9mRevenue → Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $18.7mEBIT → Net profit: $2.8mEBIT → Interest: $11kEBIT → Tax and other items (net cost): $1.1mRevenue: $22.6mRevenue$22.6mEBIT: $3.9mEBIT$3.9mOperating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $18.7m (derived)Operating costs incl.depreciation (net ofother income)$18.7m · derivedNet profit: $2.8mNet profit$2.8mInterest: $11kInterest$11kTax and other items (net cost): $1.1m (balancing item)Tax and other items (netcost)$1.1m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

General Capital Limited FY2025 figures used in the chart
FY2025AmountStatusNote
Revenue$22.6mReported
Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income)−$18.7mDerived *
Depreciation & amortisation—Not reported
EBIT$3.9mReported
Interest (net finance costs)−$11kReported
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Tax and other items (net cost)−$1.1mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$2.8mReported
  • * operating costs: $18.7m = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($22.6m) vs the summary table ($22.6m): agree within 2%.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$1.1m is 5.0% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: General Capital Limited Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2024 → FY2025)

Bridge not available: EBITDA isn't a meaningful measure for banks, insurers and property trusts; sector-specific measures (net interest margin, combined ratio, FFO) are not yet held.

Margins over time

Net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (2 of 7 years from FY2019). The shaded line is the median of 4 other listed Financials banks and finance companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

Net margin
GEN net margin by financial year, with peer median0%20%40%FY19FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2019: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2020: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2021: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2022: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2023: GEN 29.3%; peer median 34.0% (3)FY2024: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2025: GEN 12.4%; peer median — (1)

GEN   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table).

GEN margins by year with peer medians
YearNet margin: GEN · peer median (n)Note
FY2019—— (1)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY2020—— (1)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY2021—34.6% (3)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY2022—36.3% (2)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY202329.3%34.0% (3)
FY2024—28.9% (4)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY202512.4%— (1)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2024: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2022: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2021: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2020: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2019: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.