How Millennium & Copthorne Hotels New Zealand Limited makes money

Where MCK’s revenue went in FY2018: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. MCK company profile

How Millennium & Copthorne Hotels New Zealand Limited makes money — FY2018

Revenue $218.8m · EBITDA $91.3m (41.7% of revenue) · Net profit $49.4m (22.6% of revenue) · Financial year ending December (from the issuer record)

Millennium & Copthorne Hotels New Zealand Limited (MCK) FY2018: where revenue of $218.8m wentRevenue → EBITDA: $91.3mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $127.5mEBITDA → EBIT: $83.1mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $8.2mEBIT → Net profit: $49.4mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $33.7mRevenue: $218.8mRevenue$218.8mEBITDA: $91.3mEBITDA$91.3mOperating costs (net of other income): $127.5m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$127.5m · derivedEBIT: $83.1mEBIT$83.1mDepreciation & amortisation: $8.2m (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$8.2m · derivedNet profit: $49.4mNet profit$49.4mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $33.7m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$33.7m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Millennium & Copthorne Hotels New Zealand Limited FY2018 figures used in the chart
FY2018AmountStatusNote
Revenue$218.8mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$127.5mDerived *
EBITDA$91.3mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$8.2mDerived *
EBIT$83.1mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$33.7mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$49.4mReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $8.2m = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $127.5m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($218.8m) vs the summary table ($218.8m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$33.7m is 15.4% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: MCK Annual Report 2018 (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2017 → FY2018)

Bridge not available: EBITDA is not recorded or derivable for FY2017 (only EBIT is), so there is no EBITDA to bridge.

What changed from FY2017 to FY2018

MeasureFY2017FY2018ChangeChange %
Revenue$187.3m$218.8m+$31.5m+16.8%
EBITDA—$91.3m—n/m
Net profit$55.1m$49.4m−$5.7m−10.3%
EBITDA margin—41.7%——
Net margin29.4%22.6%−6.8 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 13 other listed Consumer Discretionary operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
MCK ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2018: MCK 41.7%; peer median 11.2% (7)FY2019: MCK 42.3%; peer median 11.8% (4)FY2020: MCK 19.8%; peer median 14.2% (7)FY2021: MCK 41.8%; peer median 11.9% (9)FY2022: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2023: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2024: MCK 29.0%; peer median 12.8% (5)FY2025: not charted — not from annual report
EBIT margin
MCK ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: MCK 38.9%; peer median 9.9% (6)FY2018: MCK 38.0%; peer median 8.7% (7)FY2019: MCK 38.5%; peer median 13.6% (7)FY2020: MCK 15.7%; peer median 5.7% (7)FY2021: MCK 37.4%; peer median 8.7% (10)FY2022: MCK 30.0%; peer median 8.6% (9)FY2023: MCK 22.3%; peer median 11.5% (7)FY2024: MCK 24.1%; peer median 7.8% (7)FY2025: not charted — not from annual report
Net margin
MCK net margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: MCK 29.4%; peer median 7.1% (6)FY2018: MCK 22.6%; peer median 3.0% (7)FY2019: MCK 22.6%; peer median 6.7% (7)FY2020: MCK 21.6%; peer median 2.5% (7)FY2021: MCK 26.7%; peer median 4.8% (10)FY2022: MCK 15.1%; peer median 3.5% (9)FY2023: MCK 15.0%; peer median 7.5% (7)FY2024: MCK 5.0%; peer median 4.3% (7)FY2025: not charted — not from annual report

MCK   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

MCK margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: MCK · peer median (n)EBIT margin: MCK · peer median (n)Net margin: MCK · peer median (n)Note
FY2017—13.1% (5)38.9%9.9% (6)29.4%7.1% (6)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY201841.7%11.2% (7)38.0%8.7% (7)22.6%3.0% (7)
FY201942.3%11.8% (4)38.5%13.6% (7)22.6%6.7% (7)
FY202019.8%14.2% (7)15.7%5.7% (7)21.6%2.5% (7)
FY202141.8%11.9% (9)37.4%8.7% (10)26.7%4.8% (10)
FY2022—11.3% (7)30.0%8.6% (9)15.1%3.5% (9)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2023—13.8% (6)22.3%11.5% (7)15.0%7.5% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY202429.0%12.8% (5)24.1%7.8% (7)5.0%4.3% (7)
FY2025—13.5% (8)—7.2% (8)—3.1% (8)Not charted: not from annual report

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2025: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
  • FY2015: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.