How Mainfreight Limited makes money

Where MFT’s revenue went in FY2016: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. MFT company profile

How Mainfreight Limited makes money — FY2016

Revenue $2.3b · EBITDA $174.8m (7.7% of revenue) · Net profit $87.6m (3.8% of revenue) · Financial year ending March (from the issuer record)

Mainfreight Limited (MFT) FY2016: where revenue of $2.3b wentRevenue → EBITDA: $174.8mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $2.1bEBITDA → EBIT: $109.0mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $65.8mEBIT → Net profit: $87.6mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $21.4mRevenue: $2.3bRevenue$2.3bEBITDA: $174.8mEBITDA$174.8mOperating costs (net of other income): $2.1b (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$2.1b · derivedEBIT: $109.0mEBIT$109.0mDepreciation & amortisation: $65.8mDepreciation &amortisation$65.8mNet profit: $87.6mNet profit$87.6mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $21.4m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$21.4m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Mainfreight Limited FY2016 figures used in the chart
FY2016AmountStatusNote
Revenue$2.3bReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$2.1bDerived *
EBITDA$174.8mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$65.8mReported
EBIT$109.0mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$21.4mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$87.6mReported
  • * operating costs: $2.1b = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($2,284.8m) vs the summary table ($2,284.8m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: EBITDA − D&A = $109.1m vs reported EBIT $109m: reconciles.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$21.4m is 0.9% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: Download : Annual Report 2016 size: 7.89MB (PDF, NZX)

EBITDA bridge, FY2015 → FY2016

What moved EBITDA between the two years: the change in revenue, less the change in operating costs (revenue less EBITDA, net of other income; not a reported line). The costs are one net figure; no split by type is held, so none is shown.

MFT EBITDA bridge FY2015 to FY2016FY2015 EBITDA: $162.2m$162.2mFY2015 EBITDARevenue change: +$230.5m+$230.5mRevenue changeCost change (derived): −$217.8m−$217.8mCost change (derived)FY2016 EBITDA: $174.9m$174.9mFY2016 EBITDA
MFT EBITDA bridge FY2015 to FY2016: figures
StepFY2015FY2016Effect on EBITDAStatus
FY2015 EBITDA$162.2m$162.2mAs charted
Revenue$2,054.3m$2,284.8m+$230.5mReported
Operating costs (net, derived)$1,892.1m$2,110.0m−$217.8mDerived: revenue − EBITDA
FY2016 EBITDA$174.9m$174.9mAs charted

$162.2m +$230.5m −$217.8m = $174.9m, which equals FY2016 EBITDA of $174.9m. EBITDA is the figure stored from each statement; companies that headline an adjusted measure (EBITDAF, underlying EBITDA) can report a different number.

What changed from FY2015 to FY2016

MeasureFY2015FY2016ChangeChange %
Revenue$2.1b$2.3b+$230.5m+11.2%
EBITDA$162.2m$174.8m+$12.7m+7.8%
Net profit$82.4m$87.6m+$5.2m+6.3%
EBITDA margin7.9%7.7%−0.2 pts—
Net margin4.0%3.8%−0.2 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (10 of 10 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 22 other listed Industrials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
MFT ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%20%40%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: MFT 8.5%; peer median 13.9% (5)FY2018: MFT 8.2%; peer median 11.5% (7)FY2019: MFT 8.7%; peer median 8.9% (7)FY2020: MFT 12.9%; peer median 15.6% (6)FY2021: MFT 13.2%; peer median 11.8% (8)FY2022: MFT 13.6%; peer median 14.4% (7)FY2023: MFT 15.0%; peer median 16.3% (11)FY2024: MFT 15.3%; peer median 13.9% (9)FY2025: MFT 14.5%; peer median 16.8% (12)FY2026: MFT 14.1%; peer median 37.5% (2)
EBIT margin
MFT ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%20%40%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: MFT 6.6%; peer median 10.1% (5)FY2018: MFT 6.4%; peer median 8.0% (7)FY2019: MFT 6.7%; peer median 4.9% (9)FY2020: MFT 7.4%; peer median 6.0% (7)FY2021: MFT 6.5%; peer median 5.7% (10)FY2022: MFT 9.8%; peer median 7.2% (9)FY2023: MFT 10.3%; peer median 6.8% (12)FY2024: MFT 8.4%; peer median 5.7% (10)FY2025: MFT 8.3%; peer median 7.3% (12)FY2026: MFT 7.6%; peer median 24.9% (2)
Net margin
MFT net margin by financial year, with peer median0%20%40%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: MFT 4.4%; peer median 7.7% (5)FY2018: MFT 4.1%; peer median 8.3% (7)FY2019: MFT 4.7%; peer median 4.7% (9)FY2020: MFT 5.1%; peer median 7.5% (7)FY2021: MFT 5.3%; peer median 4.7% (10)FY2022: MFT 6.8%; peer median 6.1% (9)FY2023: MFT 7.5%; peer median 5.7% (12)FY2024: MFT 4.4%; peer median 2.5% (10)FY2025: MFT 5.2%; peer median 4.8% (12)FY2026: MFT 4.7%; peer median 10.5% (2)

MFT   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

MFT margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: MFT · peer median (n)EBIT margin: MFT · peer median (n)Net margin: MFT · peer median (n)Note
FY20178.5%13.9% (5)6.6%10.1% (5)4.4%7.7% (5)
FY20188.2%11.5% (7)6.4%8.0% (7)4.1%8.3% (7)
FY20198.7%8.9% (7)6.7%4.9% (9)4.7%4.7% (9)
FY202012.9%15.6% (6)7.4%6.0% (7)5.1%7.5% (7)
FY202113.2%11.8% (8)6.5%5.7% (10)5.3%4.7% (10)
FY202213.6%14.4% (7)9.8%7.2% (9)6.8%6.1% (9)
FY202315.0%16.3% (11)10.3%6.8% (12)7.5%5.7% (12)
FY202415.3%13.9% (9)8.4%5.7% (10)4.4%2.5% (10)
FY202514.5%16.8% (12)8.3%7.3% (12)5.2%4.8% (12)
FY202614.1%37.5% (2)7.6%24.9% (2)4.7%10.5% (2)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2009: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.