How Michael Hill International Limited makes money

Where MHJ’s revenue went in FY2018: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. MHJ company profile

How Michael Hill International Limited makes money — FY2018

Revenue $575.5m · EBITDA $68.8m (12.0% of revenue) · Net profit $4.6m (0.8% of revenue) · Financial year ending June (from the issuer record)

Michael Hill International Limited (MHJ) FY2018: where revenue of $575.5m wentRevenue → EBITDA: $68.8mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $506.7mEBITDA → EBIT: $50.1mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $18.7mEBIT → Net profit: $4.6mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $45.5mRevenue: $575.5mRevenue$575.5mEBITDA: $68.8mEBITDA$68.8mOperating costs (net of other income): $506.7m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$506.7m · derivedEBIT: $50.1mEBIT$50.1mDepreciation & amortisation: $18.7m (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$18.7m · derivedNet profit: $4.6mNet profit$4.6mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $45.5m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$45.5m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Michael Hill International Limited FY2018 figures used in the chart
FY2018AmountStatusNote
Revenue$575.5mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$506.7mDerived *
EBITDA$68.8mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$18.7mDerived *
EBIT$50.1mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$45.5mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$4.6mReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $18.7m = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $506.7m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($575.5m) vs the summary table ($575.5m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$45.5m is 7.9% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2017 → FY2018)

Bridge not available: FY2017 is not charted: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 10 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 13 other listed Consumer Discretionary operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
MHJ ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: MHJ 12.0%; peer median 11.2% (7)FY2019: MHJ 7.1%; peer median 18.3% (4)FY2020: MHJ 14.2%; peer median 18.6% (7)FY2021: MHJ 22.2%; peer median 11.9% (9)FY2022: MHJ 21.0%; peer median 10.3% (6)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: MHJ 12.8%; peer median 13.8% (5)FY2025: MHJ 13.1%; peer median 13.9% (7)FY2026: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
EBIT margin
MHJ ebit margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: MHJ 8.7%; peer median 9.5% (7)FY2019: MHJ 3.7%; peer median 14.3% (7)FY2020: MHJ 2.9%; peer median 8.5% (7)FY2021: MHJ 13.0%; peer median 8.7% (10)FY2022: MHJ 12.3%; peer median 8.6% (9)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: MHJ 2.2%; peer median 9.0% (7)FY2025: MHJ 2.9%; peer median 7.3% (7)FY2026: MHJ 3.2%; peer median 11.9% (6)
Net margin
MHJ net margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: MHJ 0.8%; peer median 7.1% (7)FY2019: MHJ 2.9%; peer median 7.0% (7)FY2020: MHJ 0.6%; peer median 5.5% (7)FY2021: MHJ 8.1%; peer median 4.8% (10)FY2022: MHJ 7.8%; peer median 3.5% (9)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: MHJ -0.1%; peer median 5.0% (7)FY2025: MHJ 0.3%; peer median 4.3% (7)FY2026: MHJ 1.3%; peer median 7.5% (6)

MHJ   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

MHJ margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: MHJ · peer median (n)EBIT margin: MHJ · peer median (n)Net margin: MHJ · peer median (n)Note
FY2017—13.1% (5)—10.0% (7)—7.2% (7)Not charted: not from annual report
FY201812.0%11.2% (7)8.7%9.5% (7)0.8%7.1% (7)
FY20197.1%18.3% (4)3.7%14.3% (7)2.9%7.0% (7)
FY202014.2%18.6% (7)2.9%8.5% (7)0.6%5.5% (7)
FY202122.2%11.9% (9)13.0%8.7% (10)8.1%4.8% (10)
FY202221.0%10.3% (6)12.3%8.6% (9)7.8%3.5% (9)
FY2023—13.8% (6)—12.2% (8)—7.9% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY202412.8%13.8% (5)2.2%9.0% (7)-0.1%5.0% (7)
FY202513.1%13.9% (7)2.9%7.3% (7)0.3%4.3% (7)
FY2026—17.4% (6)3.2%11.9% (6)1.3%7.5% (6)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2023: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
  • FY2017: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.