How Napier Port Holdings Limited makes money

Where NPH’s revenue went in FY2023: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. NPH company profile

How Napier Port Holdings Limited makes money — FY2023

Revenue $118.4m · Net profit $16.6m (14.0% of revenue) · Financial year ending September (from the issuer record)

Napier Port Holdings Limited (NPH) FY2023: where revenue of $118.4m wentRevenue → EBIT: $37.2mRevenue → Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $81.2mEBIT → Net profit: $16.6mEBIT → Interest: $8.3mEBIT → Tax and other items (net cost): $12.3mRevenue: $118.4mRevenue$118.4mEBIT: $37.2mEBIT$37.2mOperating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $81.2m (derived)Operating costs incl.depreciation (net ofother income)$81.2m · derivedNet profit: $16.6mNet profit$16.6mInterest: $8.3mInterest$8.3mTax and other items (net cost): $12.3m (balancing item)Tax and other items (netcost)$12.3m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Napier Port Holdings Limited FY2023 figures used in the chart
FY2023AmountStatusNote
Revenue$118.4mReported
Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income)−$81.2mDerived *
Depreciation & amortisation—Not reported
EBIT$37.2mReported
Interest (net finance costs)−$8.3mReported
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Tax and other items (net cost)−$12.3mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$16.6mReported
  • * operating costs: $81.2m = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($118.4m) vs the summary table ($118.4m): agree within 2%.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$12.3m is 10.4% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: DOWNLOAD PDF (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2022 → FY2023)

Bridge not available: EBITDA is not recorded or derivable for FY2023 (only EBIT is), so there is no EBITDA to bridge.

What changed from FY2022 to FY2023

MeasureFY2022FY2023ChangeChange %
Revenue$114.5m$118.4m+$3.9m+3.4%
EBITDA$53.7m——n/m
Net profit$20.4m$16.6m−$3.8m−18.8%
EBITDA margin46.9%———
Net margin17.8%14.0%−3.8 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 22 other listed Industrials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
NPH ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: NPH 43.1%; peer median 12.4% (5)FY2018: NPH 42.4%; peer median 10.9% (7)FY2019: NPH 54.4%; peer median 8.7% (7)FY2020: NPH 40.8%; peer median 13.4% (6)FY2021: not charted — unexplained residualFY2022: NPH 46.9%; peer median 13.6% (7)FY2023: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2024: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2025: NPH 52.9%; peer median 14.6% (12)
EBIT margin
NPH ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: NPH 43.1%; peer median 7.8% (5)FY2018: NPH 30.4%; peer median 6.4% (7)FY2019: NPH 42.2%; peer median 4.9% (9)FY2020: NPH 27.9%; peer median 6.0% (7)FY2021: not charted — unexplained residualFY2022: NPH 35.0%; peer median 7.2% (9)FY2023: NPH 31.4%; peer median 6.8% (12)FY2024: NPH 36.8%; peer median 5.7% (10)FY2025: NPH 40.7%; peer median 7.3% (12)
Net margin
NPH net margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: NPH 19.3%; peer median 4.4% (5)FY2018: NPH 19.2%; peer median 4.6% (7)FY2019: NPH 6.8%; peer median 4.7% (9)FY2020: NPH 21.9%; peer median 5.1% (7)FY2021: not charted — unexplained residualFY2022: NPH 17.8%; peer median 6.1% (9)FY2023: NPH 14.0%; peer median 5.7% (12)FY2024: NPH 17.6%; peer median 2.5% (10)FY2025: NPH 19.6%; peer median 4.8% (12)

NPH   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

NPH margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: NPH · peer median (n)EBIT margin: NPH · peer median (n)Net margin: NPH · peer median (n)Note
FY201743.1%12.4% (5)43.1%7.8% (5)19.3%4.4% (5)
FY201842.4%10.9% (7)30.4%6.4% (7)19.2%4.6% (7)
FY201954.4%8.7% (7)42.2%4.9% (9)6.8%4.7% (9)
FY202040.8%13.4% (6)27.9%6.0% (7)21.9%5.1% (7)
FY2021—13.2% (9)—6.1% (11)—5.0% (11)Not charted: unexplained residual
FY202246.9%13.6% (7)35.0%7.2% (9)17.8%6.1% (9)
FY2023—15.6% (12)31.4%6.8% (12)14.0%5.7% (12)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2024—14.5% (10)36.8%5.7% (10)17.6%2.5% (10)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY202552.9%14.6% (12)40.7%7.3% (12)19.6%4.8% (12)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2021: After placing every reported line, $41.1m (38% of revenue) is left unexplained between EBIT and net profit. A residual that large usually means a line was mis-extracted, so the chart is not drawn.
  • FY2009: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.