How South Port New Zealand Limited makes money

Where SPN’s revenue went in FY2020: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. SPN company profile

How South Port New Zealand Limited makes money — FY2020

Revenue $44.6m · Net profit $9.4m (21.2% of revenue) · Financial year ending June (from the issuer record)

South Port New Zealand Limited (SPN) FY2020: where revenue of $44.6m wentRevenue → EBIT: $13.9mRevenue → Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $30.7mEBIT → Net profit: $9.4mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $4.4mRevenue: $44.6mRevenue$44.6mEBIT: $13.9mEBIT$13.9mOperating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $30.7m (derived)Operating costs incl.depreciation (net ofother income)$30.7m · derivedNet profit: $9.4mNet profit$9.4mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $4.4m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$4.4m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

South Port New Zealand Limited FY2020 figures used in the chart
FY2020AmountStatusNote
Revenue$44.6mReported
Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income)−$30.7mDerived *
Depreciation & amortisation—Not reported
EBIT$13.9mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$4.4mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$9.4mReported
  • * operating costs: $30.7m = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($44.6m) vs the summary table ($44.6m): agree within 2%.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$4.4m is 10.0% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: South Port NZ Ltd – 2020 Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2019 → FY2020)

Bridge not available: FY2019 is not charted: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (5 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 22 other listed Industrials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
SPN ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2020: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2021: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2022: SPN 43.5%; peer median 13.6% (7)FY2023: SPN 42.5%; peer median 15.0% (11)FY2024: SPN 42.5%; peer median 13.9% (9)FY2025: not charted — revenue figures disagree
EBIT margin
SPN ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2020: SPN 31.1%; peer median 6.0% (7)FY2021: SPN 31.0%; peer median 5.7% (10)FY2022: SPN 34.5%; peer median 7.2% (9)FY2023: SPN 33.3%; peer median 6.8% (12)FY2024: SPN 32.7%; peer median 5.7% (10)FY2025: not charted — revenue figures disagree
Net margin
SPN net margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: not charted — not from annual reportFY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2020: SPN 21.2%; peer median 5.1% (7)FY2021: SPN 22.7%; peer median 4.7% (10)FY2022: SPN 26.4%; peer median 6.1% (9)FY2023: SPN 21.9%; peer median 5.7% (12)FY2024: SPN 14.7%; peer median 2.5% (10)FY2025: not charted — revenue figures disagree

SPN   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

SPN margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: SPN · peer median (n)EBIT margin: SPN · peer median (n)Net margin: SPN · peer median (n)Note
FY2017—13.1% (6)—9.0% (6)—6.0% (6)Not charted: not from annual report
FY2018—11.2% (8)—7.2% (8)—6.4% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY2019—8.8% (8)—5.7% (10)—4.7% (10)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY2020—14.0% (7)31.1%6.0% (7)21.2%5.1% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2021—13.2% (9)31.0%5.7% (10)22.7%4.7% (10)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY202243.5%13.6% (7)34.5%7.2% (9)26.4%6.1% (9)
FY202342.5%15.0% (11)33.3%6.8% (12)21.9%5.7% (12)
FY202442.5%13.9% (9)32.7%5.7% (10)14.7%2.5% (10)
FY2025—14.7% (13)—7.6% (13)—5.2% (13)Not charted: revenue figures disagree

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2025: Two stored revenue figures for this year disagree ($23.4m vs $57,152m), so at least one is wrong and we cannot tell which.
  • FY2019: Neither EBITDA nor EBIT is recorded, so operating profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2018: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
  • FY2017: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.