How Steel & Tube Holdings Limited makes money

Where STU’s revenue went in FY2024: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. STU company profile

How Steel & Tube Holdings Limited makes money — FY2024

Revenue $479.1m · EBITDA $31.4m (6.6% of revenue) · Net profit $2.6m (0.6% of revenue) · Balance date 30 June 2024

Steel & Tube Holdings Limited (STU) FY2024: where revenue of $479.1m wentDistribution → Revenue: $276.9mRevenue → EBITDA: $31.4mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $447.7mEBITDA → EBIT: $10kEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $31.4mEBIT → Net profit: $10kInterest, tax and other items (net gain) → Net profit: $2.6mInfrastructure → Revenue: $202.3mDistribution: $276.9mDistribution$276.9mInfrastructure: $202.3mInfrastructure$202.3mRevenue: $479.1mRevenue$479.1mEBITDA: $31.4mEBITDA$31.4mOperating costs (net of other income): $447.7m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$447.7m · derivedEBIT: $10kEBIT$10kDepreciation & amortisation: $31.4m (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$31.4m · derivedInterest, tax and other items (net gain): $2.6m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net gain)$2.6m · balancingNet profit: $2.6mNet profit$2.6m

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Steel & Tube Holdings Limited FY2024 figures used in the chart
FY2024AmountStatusNote
Revenue$479.1mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$447.7mDerived *
EBITDA$31.4mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$31.4mDerived *
EBIT$10kReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net gain)+$2.6mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$2.6mReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $31.4m = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $447.7m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($479.1m) vs the summary table ($479.1m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item $2.6m is 0.5% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Passed: Operating segments sum to $479.1m, within 0.0% of revenue.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: Annual Report 2024 (PDF, NZX)

EBITDA bridge, FY2023 → FY2024

What moved EBITDA between the two years: the change in revenue, less the change in operating costs (revenue less EBITDA, net of other income; not a reported line). The costs are one net figure; no split by type is held, so none is shown.

STU EBITDA bridge FY2023 to FY2024FY2023 EBITDA: $51.9m$51.9mFY2023 EBITDARevenue change: −$110.0m−$110.0mRevenue changeCost change (derived): +$89.5m+$89.5mCost change (derived)FY2024 EBITDA: $31.4m$31.4mFY2024 EBITDA
STU EBITDA bridge FY2023 to FY2024: figures
StepFY2023FY2024Effect on EBITDAStatus
FY2023 EBITDA$51.9m$51.9mAs charted
Revenue$589.1m$479.1m−$110.0mReported
Operating costs (net, derived)$537.2m$447.7m+$89.5mDerived: revenue − EBITDA
FY2024 EBITDA$31.4m$31.4mAs charted

$51.9m −$110.0m +$89.5m = $31.4m, which equals FY2024 EBITDA of $31.4m. EBITDA is the figure stored from each statement; companies that headline an adjusted measure (EBITDAF, underlying EBITDA) can report a different number.

What changed from FY2023 to FY2024

MeasureFY2023FY2024ChangeChange %
Revenue$589.1m$479.1m−$110.0m−18.7%
EBITDA$51.9m$31.4m−$20.5m−39.5%
Net profit$17.0m$2.6m−$14.4m−84.5%
EBITDA margin8.8%6.6%−2.3 pts—
Net margin2.9%0.6%−2.3 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (7 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 8 other listed Materials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
STU ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: STU 7.6%; peer median — (0)FY2018: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2019: STU 4.8%; peer median — (0)FY2020: not charted — unexplained residualFY2021: STU 8.5%; peer median — (0)FY2022: STU 11.1%; peer median — (0)FY2023: STU 8.8%; peer median — (0)FY2024: STU 6.6%; peer median — (1)FY2025: not charted — operating loss
EBIT margin
STU ebit margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: STU 3.1%; peer median — (0)FY2018: STU 1.3%; peer median — (0)FY2019: STU 3.4%; peer median — (1)FY2020: not charted — unexplained residualFY2021: STU 4.5%; peer median — (0)FY2022: STU 7.9%; peer median — (0)FY2023: STU 5.3%; peer median — (1)FY2024: STU 0.0%; peer median 5.8% (2)FY2025: not charted — operating loss
Net margin
STU net margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: STU 3.9%; peer median — (0)FY2018: STU -6.5%; peer median — (0)FY2019: STU 2.1%; peer median — (1)FY2020: not charted — unexplained residualFY2021: STU 3.4%; peer median — (0)FY2022: STU 5.0%; peer median — (0)FY2023: STU 2.9%; peer median — (1)FY2024: STU 0.6%; peer median 0.4% (2)FY2025: not charted — operating loss

STU   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

STU margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: STU · peer median (n)EBIT margin: STU · peer median (n)Net margin: STU · peer median (n)Note
FY20177.6%— (0)3.1%— (0)3.9%— (0)
FY2018—— (0)1.3%— (0)-6.5%— (0)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY20194.8%— (0)3.4%— (1)2.1%— (1)
FY2020—— (0)—— (1)—— (1)Not charted: unexplained residual
FY20218.5%— (0)4.5%— (0)3.4%— (0)
FY202211.1%— (0)7.9%— (0)5.0%— (0)
FY20238.8%— (0)5.3%— (1)2.9%— (1)
FY20246.6%— (1)0.0%5.8% (2)0.6%0.4% (2)
FY2025—11.2% (2)—7.7% (2)—-2.2% (2)Not charted: operating loss

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2025: EBITDA is -$2.5m. This layout draws revenue flowing into profit and does not draw an operating loss.
  • FY2020: After placing every reported line, -$460m (110% of revenue) is left unexplained between EBIT and net profit. A residual that large usually means a line was mis-extracted, so the chart is not drawn.

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.