How Tourism Holdings Limited makes money

Where THL’s revenue went in FY2019: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. THL company profile

How Tourism Holdings Limited makes money — FY2019

Revenue $423.0m · Net profit $29.8m (7.0% of revenue) · Financial year ending June (from the issuer record)

Tourism Holdings Limited (THL) FY2019: where revenue of $423.0m wentRevenue → EBIT: $62.1mRevenue → Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $360.9mEBIT → Net profit: $29.8mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $32.3mRevenue: $423.0mRevenue$423.0mEBIT: $62.1mEBIT$62.1mOperating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $360.9m (derived)Operating costs incl.depreciation (net ofother income)$360.9m · derivedNet profit: $29.8mNet profit$29.8mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $32.3m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$32.3m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Tourism Holdings Limited FY2019 figures used in the chart
FY2019AmountStatusNote
Revenue$423.0mReported
Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income)−$360.9mDerived *
Depreciation & amortisation—Not reported
EBIT$62.1mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$32.3mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$29.8mReported
  • * operating costs: $360.9m = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($423m) vs the summary table ($423m): agree within 2%.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$32.3m is 7.6% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: FY19 Integrated Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2018 → FY2019)

Bridge not available: FY2018 is not charted: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 10 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 13 other listed Consumer Discretionary operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
THL ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: THL 25.7%; peer median 9.4% (4)FY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: THL 11.2%; peer median 16.6% (9)FY2022: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2023: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2024: THL 22.4%; peer median 12.8% (5)FY2025: THL 19.2%; peer median 13.1% (7)FY2026: THL 25.6%; peer median 16.5% (5)
EBIT margin
THL ebit margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: THL 14.0%; peer median 9.9% (6)FY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: THL 14.7%; peer median 13.6% (7)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: THL 2.3%; peer median 9.8% (10)FY2022: THL 2.0%; peer median 12.3% (9)FY2023: THL 13.4%; peer median 11.5% (7)FY2024: THL 12.0%; peer median 7.8% (7)FY2025: THL 8.1%; peer median 7.2% (7)FY2026: THL 11.9%; peer median 11.6% (6)
Net margin
THL net margin by financial year, with peer median-10%10%30%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY26FY2017: THL 8.9%; peer median 7.1% (6)FY2018: not charted — not from annual reportFY2019: THL 7.0%; peer median 6.7% (7)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: THL -4.0%; peer median 6.3% (10)FY2022: THL -0.6%; peer median 6.4% (9)FY2023: THL 7.5%; peer median 8.4% (7)FY2024: THL 4.3%; peer median 5.0% (7)FY2025: THL -2.5%; peer median 4.3% (7)FY2026: THL 5.4%; peer median 7.5% (6)

THL   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

THL margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: THL · peer median (n)EBIT margin: THL · peer median (n)Net margin: THL · peer median (n)Note
FY201725.7%9.4% (4)14.0%9.9% (6)8.9%7.1% (6)
FY2018—11.6% (8)—9.1% (8)—5.0% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY2019—16.6% (5)14.7%13.6% (7)7.0%6.7% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2020—16.4% (8)—7.1% (8)—4.0% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY202111.2%16.6% (9)2.3%9.8% (10)-4.0%6.3% (10)
FY2022—11.3% (7)2.0%12.3% (9)-0.6%6.4% (9)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2023—13.8% (6)13.4%11.5% (7)7.5%8.4% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY202422.4%12.8% (5)12.0%7.8% (7)4.3%5.0% (7)
FY202519.2%13.1% (7)8.1%7.2% (7)-2.5%4.3% (7)
FY202625.6%16.5% (5)11.9%11.6% (6)5.4%7.5% (6)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2020: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
  • FY2018: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).
  • FY2009: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.