How Vector Limited makes money

Where VCT’s revenue went in FY2024: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. VCT company profile

How Vector Limited makes money — FY2024

Revenue $1.1b · EBITDA $365.2m (32.0% of revenue) · Net profit $79.9m (7.0% of revenue) · Balance date 30 June 2024

Vector Limited (VCT) FY2024: where revenue of $1.1b wentRevenue → EBITDA: $365.2mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $776.0mEBITDA → EBIT: $134.4mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $230.8mEBIT → Net profit: $79.9mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $54.5mRevenue: $1.1bRevenue$1.1bEBITDA: $365.2mEBITDA$365.2mOperating costs (net of other income): $776.0m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$776.0m · derivedEBIT: $134.4mEBIT$134.4mDepreciation & amortisation: $230.8mDepreciation &amortisation$230.8mNet profit: $79.9mNet profit$79.9mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $54.5m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$54.5m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Vector Limited FY2024 figures used in the chart
FY2024AmountStatusNote
Revenue$1.1bReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$776.0mDerived *
EBITDA$365.2mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$230.8mReported
EBIT$134.4mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$54.5mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$79.9mReported
  • * operating costs: $776.0m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($1,141.2m) vs the summary table ($1,141.2m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: EBITDA − D&A = $134.4m vs reported EBIT $134.4m: reconciles.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$54.5m is 4.8% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: 2024 Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2023 → FY2024)

Bridge not available: FY2023 is not charted: EBITDA is recorded but neither EBIT nor depreciation is, so the step from operating profit to net profit cannot be placed.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (8 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 7 other listed Utilities operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
VCT ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: VCT 38.7%; peer median — (1)FY2018: VCT 40.9%; peer median 19.9% (2)FY2019: VCT 39.2%; peer median 24.0% (3)FY2020: VCT 44.3%; peer median 19.4% (4)FY2021: VCT 49.6%; peer median 11.1% (3)FY2022: VCT 50.2%; peer median 15.5% (3)FY2023: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2024: VCT 32.0%; peer median 18.6% (3)FY2025: VCT 36.3%; peer median 17.6% (4)
EBIT margin
VCT ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: VCT 30.7%; peer median — (1)FY2018: VCT 13.3%; peer median 4.4% (3)FY2019: VCT 20.5%; peer median 16.1% (3)FY2020: VCT 24.0%; peer median 10.8% (4)FY2021: VCT 28.5%; peer median 7.9% (3)FY2022: VCT 28.6%; peer median 5.2% (3)FY2023: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2024: VCT 11.8%; peer median 11.8% (3)FY2025: VCT 15.4%; peer median 9.1% (4)
Net margin
VCT net margin by financial year, with peer median0%30%60%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: VCT 13.8%; peer median — (1)FY2018: VCT 11.3%; peer median 1.8% (3)FY2019: VCT 6.4%; peer median 4.8% (3)FY2020: VCT 7.5%; peer median 3.5% (4)FY2021: VCT 15.2%; peer median 3.0% (3)FY2022: VCT 12.0%; peer median 7.8% (3)FY2023: not charted — no EBITDA/EBIT splitFY2024: VCT 7.0%; peer median 8.5% (3)FY2025: VCT 14.0%; peer median 2.3% (4)

VCT   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

VCT margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: VCT · peer median (n)EBIT margin: VCT · peer median (n)Net margin: VCT · peer median (n)Note
FY201738.7%— (1)30.7%— (1)13.8%— (1)
FY201840.9%19.9% (2)13.3%4.4% (3)11.3%1.8% (3)
FY201939.2%24.0% (3)20.5%16.1% (3)6.4%4.8% (3)
FY202044.3%19.4% (4)24.0%10.8% (4)7.5%3.5% (4)
FY202149.6%11.1% (3)28.5%7.9% (3)15.2%3.0% (3)
FY202250.2%15.5% (3)28.6%5.2% (3)12.0%7.8% (3)
FY2023—23.2% (2)—11.3% (3)—2.9% (3)Not charted: no EBITDA/EBIT split
FY202432.0%18.6% (3)11.8%11.8% (3)7.0%8.5% (3)
FY202536.3%17.6% (4)15.4%9.1% (4)14.0%2.3% (4)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2023: EBITDA is recorded but neither EBIT nor depreciation is, so the step from operating profit to net profit cannot be placed.
  • FY2009: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.