How Ventia Services Group Limited makes money

Where VNT’s revenue went in FY2021: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. VNT company profile

How Ventia Services Group Limited makes money — FY2021

Revenue $4.6b · EBITDA $312.2m (6.9% of revenue) · Net profit $19.5m (0.4% of revenue) · Financial year ending December (from the issuer record)

Ventia Services Group Limited (VNT) FY2021: where revenue of $4.6b wentRevenue → EBITDA: $312.2mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $4.2bEBITDA → EBIT: $117.4mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $194.8mEBIT → Net profit: $19.5mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $97.9mRevenue: $4.6bRevenue$4.6bEBITDA: $312.2mEBITDA$312.2mOperating costs (net of other income): $4.2b (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$4.2b · derivedEBIT: $117.4mEBIT$117.4mDepreciation & amortisation: $194.8mDepreciation &amortisation$194.8mNet profit: $19.5mNet profit$19.5mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $97.9m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$97.9m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Ventia Services Group Limited FY2021 figures used in the chart
FY2021AmountStatusNote
Revenue$4.6bReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$4.2bDerived *
EBITDA$312.2mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$194.8mReported
EBIT$117.4mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$97.9mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$19.5mReported
  • * operating costs: $4.2b = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($4,557.4m) vs the summary table ($4,557.4m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: EBITDA − D&A = $117.4m vs reported EBIT $117.4m: reconciles.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$97.9m is 2.1% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: Appendix 4E and 2021 Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2020 → FY2021)

Bridge not available: FY2020 is not charted: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (5 of 6 years from FY2020). The shaded line is the median of 22 other listed Industrials operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
VNT ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: VNT 6.9%; peer median 13.2% (8)FY2022: VNT 8.0%; peer median 14.4% (7)FY2023: VNT 8.2%; peer median 16.3% (11)FY2024: VNT 8.2%; peer median 15.1% (9)FY2025: VNT 9.1%; peer median 16.8% (12)
EBIT margin
VNT ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: VNT 2.6%; peer median 6.3% (10)FY2022: VNT 4.9%; peer median 9.6% (9)FY2023: VNT 5.6%; peer median 8.6% (12)FY2024: VNT 5.9%; peer median 6.9% (10)FY2025: VNT 7.1%; peer median 7.9% (12)
Net margin
VNT net margin by financial year, with peer median0%10%20%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: VNT 0.4%; peer median 5.1% (10)FY2022: VNT 3.7%; peer median 6.8% (9)FY2023: VNT 3.3%; peer median 6.1% (12)FY2024: VNT 3.6%; peer median 2.5% (10)FY2025: VNT 4.4%; peer median 5.2% (12)

VNT   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

VNT margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: VNT · peer median (n)EBIT margin: VNT · peer median (n)Net margin: VNT · peer median (n)Note
FY2020—14.0% (7)—6.7% (8)—6.3% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY20216.9%13.2% (8)2.6%6.3% (10)0.4%5.1% (10)
FY20228.0%14.4% (7)4.9%9.6% (9)3.7%6.8% (9)
FY20238.2%16.3% (11)5.6%8.6% (12)3.3%6.1% (12)
FY20248.2%15.1% (9)5.9%6.9% (10)3.6%2.5% (10)
FY20259.1%16.8% (12)7.1%7.9% (12)4.4%5.2% (12)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2020: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: not recorded).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.