How The Warehouse Group Limited makes money

Where WHS’s revenue went in FY2019: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. WHS company profile

How The Warehouse Group Limited makes money — FY2019

Revenue $3.1b · Net profit $65.4m (2.1% of revenue) · Financial year ending July (from the issuer record)

The Warehouse Group Limited (WHS) FY2019: where revenue of $3.1b wentRevenue → EBIT: $102.9mRevenue → Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $3.0bEBIT → Net profit: $65.4mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $37.6mRevenue: $3.1bRevenue$3.1bEBIT: $102.9mEBIT$102.9mOperating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income): $3.0b (derived)Operating costs incl.depreciation (net ofother income)$3.0b · derivedNet profit: $65.4mNet profit$65.4mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $37.6m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$37.6m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

The Warehouse Group Limited FY2019 figures used in the chart
FY2019AmountStatusNote
Revenue$3.1bReported
Operating costs incl. depreciation (net of other income)−$3.0bDerived *
Depreciation & amortisation—Not reported
EBIT$102.9mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$37.6mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$65.4mReported
  • * operating costs: $3.0b = Revenue − EBIT
Checks run on these figures (5)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($3,071.4m) vs the summary table ($3,071.4m): agree within 2%.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$37.6m is 1.2% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: No operating segments recorded for this year.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: The Warehouse Group – 2019 Annual Results Announcement (PDF, NZX)

Year-on-year EBITDA bridge (FY2018 → FY2019)

Bridge not available: EBITDA is not recorded or derivable for FY2019 (only EBIT is), so there is no EBITDA to bridge.

What changed from FY2018 to FY2019

MeasureFY2018FY2019ChangeChange %
Revenue$3.0b$3.1b+$76.8m+2.6%
EBITDA$116.9m——n/m
Net profit$23.1m$65.4m+$42.3m+182.8%
EBITDA margin3.9%———
Net margin0.8%2.1%+1.4 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (7 of 9 years from FY2017). The shaded line is the median of 13 other listed Consumer Discretionary operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
WHS ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: WHS 5.6%; peer median 14.5% (4)FY2018: WHS 3.9%; peer median 12.0% (7)FY2019: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: WHS 10.1%; peer median 16.6% (9)FY2022: WHS 9.3%; peer median 14.6% (6)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: not charted — EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)FY2025: WHS 6.4%; peer median 13.9% (7)
EBIT margin
WHS ebit margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: WHS 3.6%; peer median 12.0% (6)FY2018: WHS 1.9%; peer median 9.5% (7)FY2019: WHS 3.4%; peer median 14.3% (7)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: WHS 5.7%; peer median 9.8% (10)FY2022: WHS 4.8%; peer median 12.3% (9)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: WHS 1.9%; peer median 9.0% (7)FY2025: WHS 1.3%; peer median 7.3% (7)
Net margin
WHS net margin by financial year, with peer median-10%5%20%FY17FY18FY20FY22FY24FY25FY2017: WHS 0.7%; peer median 7.9% (6)FY2018: WHS 0.8%; peer median 7.1% (7)FY2019: WHS 2.1%; peer median 7.0% (7)FY2020: not charted — not from annual reportFY2021: WHS 3.4%; peer median 6.3% (10)FY2022: WHS 2.6%; peer median 6.4% (9)FY2023: not charted — not from annual reportFY2024: WHS -1.8%; peer median 5.0% (7)FY2025: WHS -0.1%; peer median 4.3% (7)

WHS   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

WHS margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: WHS · peer median (n)EBIT margin: WHS · peer median (n)Net margin: WHS · peer median (n)Note
FY20175.6%14.5% (4)3.6%12.0% (6)0.7%7.9% (6)
FY20183.9%12.0% (7)1.9%9.5% (7)0.8%7.1% (7)
FY2019—16.6% (5)3.4%14.3% (7)2.1%7.0% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY2020—16.4% (8)—7.1% (8)—4.0% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY202110.1%16.6% (9)5.7%9.8% (10)3.4%6.3% (10)
FY20229.3%14.6% (6)4.8%12.3% (9)2.6%6.4% (9)
FY2023—13.8% (6)—12.2% (8)—7.9% (8)Not charted: not from annual report
FY2024—13.3% (6)1.9%9.0% (7)-1.8%5.0% (7)EBITDA not recorded or derivable for this year (EBIT only)
FY20256.4%13.9% (7)1.3%7.3% (7)-0.1%4.3% (7)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

Years not charted

These years are on file but their figures did not pass the checks, so no chart is drawn for them.

  • FY2023: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: earnings_sync).
  • FY2020: Figures were not read from a filed annual report (source: earnings_sync).

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.