How Winton Land Limited makes money

Where WIN’s revenue went in FY2025: operating costs, depreciation, interest and tax, and what was left as net profit. Built from the income statement in the filed annual report, and drawn only when the figures reconcile with each other. WIN company profile

How Winton Land Limited makes money — FY2025

Revenue $155.4m · EBITDA $21.3m (13.7% of revenue) · Net profit $10.3m (6.6% of revenue) · Balance date 30 June 2025

Winton Land Limited (WIN) FY2025: where revenue of $155.4m wentRevenue → EBITDA: $21.3mRevenue → Operating costs (net of other income): $134.2mEBITDA → EBIT: $16.0mEBITDA → Depreciation & amortisation: $5.3mEBIT → Net profit: $10.3mEBIT → Interest, tax and other items (net cost): $5.6mRevenue: $155.4mRevenue$155.4mEBITDA: $21.3mEBITDA$21.3mOperating costs (net of other income): $134.2m (derived)Operating costs (net ofother income)$134.2m · derivedEBIT: $16.0mEBIT$16.0mDepreciation & amortisation: $5.3m (derived)Depreciation &amortisation$5.3m · derivedNet profit: $10.3mNet profit$10.3mInterest, tax and other items (net cost): $5.6m (balancing item)Interest, tax and otheritems (net cost)$5.6m · balancing

Band widths are proportional to NZD amounts. Dashed outlines mark derived figures; the hatched node is a balancing item (net profit less every line above it).

Winton Land Limited FY2025 figures used in the chart
FY2025AmountStatusNote
Revenue$155.4mReported
Operating costs (net of other income)−$134.2mDerived *
EBITDA$21.3mReported
Depreciation & amortisation−$5.3mDerived *
EBIT$16.0mReported
Interest—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Income tax—Not reportedIncluded in the balancing item.
Interest, tax and other items (net cost)−$5.6mBalancing item *Net profit less the lines above; covers fair-value movements, impairments, associates and anything else not itemised.
Net profit$10.3mReported
  • * depreciation amortisation: $5.3m = EBITDA − EBIT (may include impairments)
  • * operating costs: $134.2m = Revenue − EBITDA
Checks run on these figures (6)
  • Passed: Revenue is within the scale of a column stored in thousands.
  • Passed: Revenue in the income statement ($155.4m) vs the summary table ($155.4m): agree within 2%.
  • Passed: D&A not recorded; derived as EBITDA − EBIT.
  • Not met: Operating expenses not recorded; costs derived as revenue minus operating profit.
  • Passed: Balancing item -$5.6m is 3.6% of revenue (limit 25%).
  • Not met: Fewer than two operating segments with revenue; shown as one Revenue figure.

Figures extracted automatically from the annual report; check against the report. NZD thousands as stored, shown in millions. Source: annual_report_pdf · method: claude_haiku_pdf · extracted 7 March 2026.

Annual report: Winton Land Limited Annual Report (PDF, NZX)

EBITDA bridge, FY2024 → FY2025

What moved EBITDA between the two years: the change in revenue, less the change in operating costs (revenue less EBITDA, net of other income; not a reported line). The costs are one net figure; no split by type is held, so none is shown.

WIN EBITDA bridge FY2024 to FY2025FY2024 EBITDA: $29.5m$29.5mFY2024 EBITDARevenue change: −$18.2m−$18.2mRevenue changeCost change (derived): +$9.9m+$9.9mCost change (derived)FY2025 EBITDA: $21.3m$21.3mFY2025 EBITDA
WIN EBITDA bridge FY2024 to FY2025: figures
StepFY2024FY2025Effect on EBITDAStatus
FY2024 EBITDA$29.5m$29.5mAs charted
Revenue$173.6m$155.4m−$18.2mReported
Operating costs (net, derived)$144.1m$134.2m+$9.9mDerived: revenue − EBITDA
FY2025 EBITDA$21.3m$21.3mAs charted

$29.5m −$18.2m +$9.9m = $21.3m, which equals FY2025 EBITDA of $21.3m. EBITDA is the figure stored from each statement; companies that headline an adjusted measure (EBITDAF, underlying EBITDA) can report a different number.

What changed from FY2024 to FY2025

MeasureFY2024FY2025ChangeChange %
Revenue$173.6m$155.4m−$18.1m−10.5%
EBITDA$29.5m$21.3m−$8.2m−27.9%
Net profit$15.7m$10.3m−$5.4m−34.4%
EBITDA margin17.0%13.7%−3.3 pts—
Net margin9.1%6.6%−2.4 pts—

Both years passed the same checks. Margins are shares of revenue; their change is in percentage points. n/m = not meaningful (prior-year figure at or below zero). Each year holds the figures from its own annual report; restated comparatives are not applied.

Margins over time

EBITDA, EBIT and net profit as a share of revenue for each year whose figures passed the checks (4 of 4 years from FY2022). The shaded line is the median of 3 other listed Real Estate operating companies, using each one’s same financial year where it passed the checks; the number of companies in each median is in the table. Gaps are years that were not charted.

EBITDA margin
WIN ebitda margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2022: WIN 28.2%; peer median 36.7% (2)FY2023: WIN 45.2%; peer median 32.1% (2)FY2024: WIN 17.0%; peer median 30.7% (2)FY2025: WIN 13.7%; peer median — (1)
EBIT margin
WIN ebit margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2022: WIN 27.7%; peer median 32.3% (2)FY2023: WIN 44.6%; peer median 26.9% (2)FY2024: WIN 15.0%; peer median 26.4% (2)FY2025: WIN 10.3%; peer median — (1)
Net margin
WIN net margin by financial year, with peer median0%25%50%FY22FY23FY24FY25FY2022: WIN 19.8%; peer median 23.1% (2)FY2023: WIN 30.6%; peer median 19.9% (2)FY2024: WIN 9.1%; peer median 9.9% (2)FY2025: WIN 6.6%; peer median — (1)

WIN   peer median   below the axis: year not charted (reason in the table). All panels share one scale.

WIN margins by year with peer medians
YearEBITDA margin: WIN · peer median (n)EBIT margin: WIN · peer median (n)Net margin: WIN · peer median (n)Note
FY202228.2%36.7% (2)27.7%32.3% (2)19.8%23.1% (2)
FY202345.2%32.1% (2)44.6%26.9% (2)30.6%19.9% (2)
FY202417.0%30.7% (2)15.0%26.4% (2)9.1%9.9% (2)
FY202513.7%— (1)10.3%— (1)6.6%— (1)

Peer medians use only peer-years that passed the same checks; a median of fewer than two companies is not shown. Years are grouped by financial-year label, and year-end months differ between companies.

Not yet available: where the cash goes (operating cash flow to capex, dividends and debt) and underlying versus reported earnings. The figures they need are not yet validated.

All companies with a chart

Data sourced from NZX company annual reports (income statements). Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.

For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.

Get NZX governance insights in your inbox

Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.