Get NZX governance insights in your inbox
Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Get NZX governance insights in your inbox
Weekly digest of board changes, insider trades, and market signals. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
NZX companies with government contracts via GETS (Government Electronic Tenders Service)
Awards from 2019-07-03 to 2025-11-19 — the newest GETS award notice we hold.
Sorted by disclosed contract value. Each contract counts once per company. A contract shared with other suppliers (a panel) carries its full published value, which can exceed the company's part of it.
| Ticker | Company | Sector | Contracts | Disclosed Value | Top Agency | Latest Award |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIR | Air New Zealand | Industrials | 21 shared | $87.0M | Ministry of Transport | 2021-08-10 |
| GNE | Genesis Energy Limited | Utilities | 51 shared | $6.0M | University of Auckland | 2022-12-01 |
| SPK | Spark New Zealand Limited | Communication Services | 326 shared | $4.6M | Fire and Emergency New Zealand | 2025-11-19 |
| LIC | Livestock Improvement Corporation Limited | Financials | 21 shared | $2.8M | Ministry for Primary Industries | 2023-03-29 |
| MEL | Meridian Energy Limited | Utilities | 81 shared | $2.4M | University of Otago | 2023-12-15 |
| MCY | Mercury NZ Limited | Utilities | 31 shared | $1.1M | Kāinga Ora – Homes and Communities | 2023-05-01 |
| MFT | Mainfreight Limited | Industrials | 2 | $350.0K | Department of Corrections | 2023-01-10 |
| ERD | EROAD | Industrials | 52 shared | not disclosed | Hastings District Council | 2025-10-31 |
| CEN | Contact Energy Limited | Utilities | 21 shared | not disclosed | Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment | 2025-07-18 |
| AGL | Accordant Group Limited | Utilities | 22 shared | not disclosed | Queenstown-Lakes District Council | 2025-10-28 |
| SDL | Solution Dynamics Limited | Consumer Discretionary | 2 | not disclosed | Dunedin City Council | 2025-07-09 |
| WHS | The Warehouse Group Limited | Consumer Discretionary | 22 shared | not disclosed | Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment | 2021-06-24 |
| VSL | Vulcan Steel Limited | Materials | 1 | not disclosed | Department of Corrections | 2024-11-27 |
| WCO | WasteCo Group Limited | Industrials | 1 | not disclosed | Christchurch City Council | 2024-05-20 |
Government agencies by disclosed value of contracts awarded to NZX-listed companies, each contract counted once.
| Agency | Contracts | Disclosed Value | NZX Suppliers | Value Distribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ministry of Transport | 1 | $75.0M | 1 | |
| Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment | 5 | $12.0M | 7 | |
| University of Auckland | 2 | $6.0M | 2 | |
| Ministry for Primary Industries | 2 | $2.8M | 2 | |
| Wellington City Council | 1 | $2.4M | 1 | |
| Statistics New Zealand | 1 | $2.0M | 1 | |
| Kāinga Ora – Homes and Communities | 1 | $1.1M | 1 | |
| Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade | 1 | $460.0K | 1 | |
| University of Otago | 3 | $440.0K | 2 | |
| Radio New Zealand | 1 | $423.0K | 1 | |
| New Zealand Institute of Skills & Technology | 1 | $353.7K | 1 | |
| Department of Corrections | 2 | $350.0K | 2 | |
| Napier City Council | 2 | $335.3K | 2 | |
| Gisborne District Council | 1 | $330.0K | 1 | |
| Department of Internal Affairs | 1 | $285.0K | 1 | |
| Hastings District Council | 3 | - | 3 | |
| Christchurch City Council | 2 | - | 2 | |
| Dunedin City Council | 2 | - | 1 | |
| Fire and Emergency New Zealand | 2 | - | 1 | |
| Ministry of Social Development | 2 | - | 1 | |
| Porirua City Council | 2 | - | 2 | |
| Tararua District Council | 2 | - | 1 | |
| University of Waikato | 2 | - | 2 | |
| Whangarei District Council | 2 | - | 2 | |
| AgResearch Limited | 1 | - | 1 | |
| Auckland Council | 1 | - | 1 | |
| Energy and Technical Services trading as Carbon EMS | 1 | - | 1 | |
| Hawke's Bay Regional Council | 1 | - | 1 | |
| Health New Zealand (Te Whatu Ora) | 1 | - | 1 | |
| HealthSource New Zealand Limited | 1 | - | 1 |
Contract data is sourced from the Government Electronic Tenders Service (GETS), published as open data by MBIE. A supplier is linked to an NZX-listed company by a stored issuer link, and every contract filed under the same Companies Office record counts for that company. Names alone are never used to attach a listed company, so contracts won by subsidiaries trading under other names may be missing. An award of $0 or blank is treated as undisclosed, not as zero; most GETS notices do not publish a value.
See also: Political Connections — MP interests and party donations linked to NZX companies. · Procurement Intelligence on PublicData — every GETS supplier, agency spending patterns and supplier concentration. · Government Contracts on PublicData — GETS and council contracts, including charity suppliers.
NZ Governance Power Index — top directors, board interlocks, auditor concentration, and multi-board analysis.
Interactive force-directed visualization of board interlocks across NZX, charities, iwi, and public sector.
Auditor market concentration, tenure analysis, and director-auditor independence.
Data sourced from GETS (Government Electronic Tenders Service) via MBIE Open Data. Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@nzxplorer.co.nz.
For informational purposes only. Not investment advice.